ELECTION: Ducey wins reelection as mayor in Brick; Gov. Murphy barely leads Ciattarelli


Brick Township Mayor John G. Ducey, a Democrat, easily won reelection Tuesday, defeating Republican Theresa Gallagher, 16,845 to 9,857. But Republicans easily took one of three borough council seats on the ballot and led by five votes for a second.

Republican Perry Albanese outpolled all five other candidates, with 13,312 votes to 12,609 for top Democratic council vote-getter Marianna Pontoriero, an incumbent. But Republican Mary Buckley trailed her by a mere five votes, with 12,604, which put her third in the race for three seats, with a five-vote lead over incumbent Democrat Heather deJong, who had 12,599.

Republican Ernest C. Arians and Democrat Derrick T. Ambrosino followed, with 12,480 and 12,333 votes respectively.


In Point Pleasant Borough, Republicans Antoinette DePaola [5,415 votes] and William Borowsky [5,433] easily defeated Democrats Wayne Martiak [2,195] and Derek Reichenbecher [2,137]. Republican Valerie Coulsen was unopposed for the remaining two years of a vacated three-year term.

In Point Pleasant Beach, Republicans Rosa Crowley [1,269 votes] and Michael Ramos [1,220] were elected, unseating independent incumbent Andy Cortes [725] who had been dropped from the GOP ticket. 

Statewide, Gov. Phil Murphy, a Democrat, held a tiny lead over Republican challenger Jack Ciattarelli as of 8 a.m. Wednesday, as vote counting continued.

Mr. Ciattarelli received a big lift from Ocean County, where he led Mr. Murphy, 141,482 to 65,176.

See Full Ocean County results here