Sea Girt BOE president and vice president retain seats


SEA GIRT — Two incumbents who ran uncontested in the Nov. 3 general election have secured new, full three-year terms on the Sea Girt Board of Education.

Unofficial results from the Monmouth County Board of Elections showed a total of 1,969 votes on Monday morning; Hilary DiFeo received 996 and Todd Leonhardt received 972, with one write-in vote counted.

According to the county, only 88 percent of election night mail-in ballots have been processed, not including mail-in ballots cast on Election Day. Late mail-in ballots, polling machine votes and provisional ballots are still pending.


Mr. Leonhardt and Ms. DiFeo, who are the board president and vice president respectively, were both elected to the board of education for the first time in 2017. They will join fellow board members Brendan O’Reilly, Marjorie Kane and John Lajewski.

Check out our other Sea Girt stories, updated daily. And remember to pick up a copy of The Coast Star—on newsstands Thursday or online in our e-Edition.

This is an excerpt of the print article. For more on this story, read The Coast Star—on newsstands Thursday or online in our e-Edition.

Subscribe today! If you're not already an annual subscriber to The Coast Star, get your subscription today! For just $34 per year, you will receive local mail delivery weekly, with pages and pages of local news and online access to our e-edition on