Council members secure new terms in Sea Girt


SEA GIRT — Three incumbents will retain their seats on the borough council, having run uncontested in the Nov. 3 general election.

Diane Anthony and Mark Clemmensen won the two available, full three-year terms on the council with Matthew Begley winning a one-year unexpired term.

As of Monday morning, the Monmouth County Board of Elections showed 2,041 total votes for the two three-year seats; Ms. Anthony received 1,030 votes and Mr. Clemmensen received 1,007 votes with four write-in votes counted.


For the one-year unexpired term, Mr. Begley received 1,013 votes with five write-in votes counted.

According to the county, only 88 percent of election night mail-in ballots have been processed, not including mail-in ballots cast on Election Day. Late mail-in ballots, polling machine votes and provisional ballots are still pending.

The governing body will maintain Republican dominance, with Ms. Anthony, Mr. Clemmensen and Mr. Begley joining Council President Donald Fetzer, council members Matthew Mastrorilli and Melissa Giegerich, and Mayor Ken Farrell.

Check out our other Sea Girt stories, updated daily. And remember to pick up a copy of The Coast Star—on newsstands Thursday or online in our e-Edition.

This is an excerpt of the print article. For more on this story, read The Coast Star—on newsstands Thursday or online in our e-Edition.

Subscribe today! If you're not already an annual subscriber to The Coast Star, get your subscription today! For just $34 per year, you will receive local mail delivery weekly, with pages and pages of local news and online access to our e-edition on